GCC country profiles

The GCCBahrainKuwaitOmanQatarSaudi ArabiaThe United Arab Emirates

emblems--thumbs--bahrain emblems--thumbs-kuwait emblems--thumbs-oman emblems--thumbs-qatar emblems--thumbs--saudi-arabia emblems--thumbs--united-arab-emirates

The Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC)—which comprises Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (often referred to as the Arabian Gulf)—has undergone rapid demographic, economic and social changes in the past two decades. Four of the six countries—Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE—have significant revenues from oil and gas and, have some of the world’s highest per capita incomes (especially so if delineated along national/non-national lines) (consult Tables 1 & 2, below).

With the exception of Saudi Arabia, all have very small national populations and, as a consequence rely heavily on a large number of expatriate “guest” workers. In Qatar and the UAE, nationals only make up a small fraction of their respective workforces (consult Tables 2 & 3, below).

Table 1. Hydrocarbon and Sovereign Wealth Assets

Table 2. Demographic Imbalances & National Resource Wealth
Demographic Imbalances & National Resource Wealth

Table 3. Labour Market Characteristics